Exercise and the Fine Art of Mountain Biking

Cannondale Trail 29r

In my quest to finally lose weight and get physically fit, I purchased a mountain bike.  But not just any bike, a Cannondale Trail 29r (in Mariner Blue).  I chose a mountain bike for its versatility and to take advantage of the many trails around Gastonia.  For a week, the bike sat in my Gastonia living room.   I promised to ride it after work, but with my schedule, the ride never came.  Until yesterday. On 4/26/2014, I loaded the bike for a trip to George Poston Park [http://www.gastongov.com/departments/parks-recreation/parks/george-poston-park].  As a new rider, I choose the “Lake Loop”, one of five in the park.  I won’t bore you with the details but it took nearly an hour to go a little over a mile.  I fell off twice. But I rode out, undamaged, while gaining a healthy respect for the sport.

Leave a Reply

